A bit of good-natured ribbing.

Guys. Guys. Guys. I finished the sweater. No seriously.

Note the ribbed area around the front: THIS TOOK SO LONG. So many freaking stitches I didn’t even count, back and forth for FOUR INCHES of ribbing. I hate ribbing. It is the worst stitch. Unlike stockinette or garter stitch*, it isn’t quite mindless enough to completely pay attention to something else, so you can’t fully devote your attention to watching Mad Men. Or some educational documentary. I actually shouldn’t say that too shiftily, I’ve been enjoying Boston Med.

But anyway: a finished sweater! On that fits! One that I will actually wear!

As you can see by the crappy mirror picture, I do need to wet it so I can even out the ribbing in the front, but other than that, woo! I can’t wait for it to get cold so I can wear it. I may make a belt for it, but it’s designed to be belted, pinned, or just hang open and I think it looks good open. I may also add pockets.

*Note on stitches:  grab a piece of knit cloth to look at. A t-shirt will work if you have good eyesight but a knit sweater is better if you have one. If you look at a plain area, you will notice small V’s, which are knit stitches. If you look on the reverse side (unless there is a facing), there are small bars, which are purl stitches. A purl is simply a reversed knit, and vice versa. Stockinette stitch is the usual, flat knitting: knit 1 row, purl 1 row, forming a plain fabric. Garter is knit every row, producing a ridged fabric. These are the two most basic knit fabrics. Rib is alternating knit and purl stitches, which end up scrunching together accordion-style, which is why I need to adjust the front so it looks nicer. The ribbing in this patter is 2×2 (knit 2, purl 2).

4 responses to “A bit of good-natured ribbing.

  1. Congratulations! It looks so good!! It defs needs pockets, though. Although, if we’re being honest, everything needs more pockets.

  2. you are a wonder. a wonder wendy.

  3. so damn cool.

  4. Wendy, you are wonderful.
    Did you know “to wend” actually means “to go in a specified direction”, as in, “to walk”, or travel along by the scenic route? Too much GRE, I know.

Leave a Reply

