Things that shortened my lifespan today

  • Though I set my alarm for 8:30, I instead awoke (for the first time) at 6:45 because I’d forgotten to shut the curtains on my east-facing window.
  • While walking to work I tripped on a curb and skinned my knee.
  • I singed myself on the steam emitted from an Erlenmeyer flask of boiling liquid.
  • The usual, day-to-day use of mutagenic chemicals (wear your gloves, kids!)
  • I was bitten and peed on numerous times by pubescent mice.
  • My boss “rewarded” me for doing a good job at work by whacking me heartily on the back several times.

In spite of these great setbacks, I managed to survive work and I may now, at my leisure, go to the library and then go see Despicable Me later. Awww yeah, Bargain Tuesdays.

Also, here is my current favorite thing: FEMINIST HULK. Best Twitter feed ever. A few of my favorites:

HULK SMASH DOMINANT GENDER PARADIGM! PUT DEBRIS IN COMPOST PILE TO FERTILIZE LITTLE HULK GARDEN OUT BACK.

And:

HULK SAY FUCK PATRIARCHY. HULK NOT HAVE PROBLEM WITH “FUCK.” ONLY BAD WORDS ARE ONES USED TO MAKE PEOPLE FEEL SMALL.

You can read an interview with FEMINIST HULK here.

4 responses to “Things that shortened my lifespan today

  1. Kate Fritzsche

    Wendy THANK YOU for sharing Feminist Hulk!!

    Also, shouldn’t pubescent mice be old enough to control where they pee? Good luck with that one.

  2. Dammit, Wendy! I’m interneting in the library and Feminist Hulk made meaudibly titter with glee, I couldn’t stop myself and now I’m being glared at.

  3. Macaroni Bill

    1. I imagine there are many things -such as good friends, the antioxidants in chocolate, and laughter- that add to your lifespan, so probably you’re balanced back to neutral.

    2. I love the combination of social conscientiousness, humor, and comics. Triple awesome. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

